How to visit a museum

Martino Pietropoli
3 min readJan 8, 2017

--

Visiting a museum can be frustrating: imagine that you don’t really know what’s inside. Ancient art, old paintings, sculptures from unknown cultures. It can be really frustrating and boring.

I can’t honestly say that about the magnificient Gallerie dell’Accademia in Venice. Giovanni Bellini, Gianbattista Tiepolo, Giorgione, Veronese, Jheronimus Bosch, you name them, they’re there. In any other country they’d build a whole museum around a single one of these many paintings and there in Venice they have tens of them. Walking and hanging and wandering through its halls can be really mind-blowing, I promise.

Nonetheless there’s a chance you wouldn’t enjoy it: maybe you don’t like arts, ancient arts oh no please. Or, as said before, you don’t really know much about it and just got bored.

I wasn’t bored at all few days ago at the Accademia but I realized after half an hour that I wasn’t actually staring at the whole painting. I was looking for hands. I saw pale hands, slick and slim hands, fat hands, all superbly painted. I was suddenly amazed by the quality of these hands like it was the first time I saw hands on an old painting. Did they really have hands centuries ago? I couldn’t believe it.

--

--

Martino Pietropoli

Architect, photographer, illustrator, writer. L’Indice Totale, The Fluxus and I Love Podcasts, co-founder @ RunLovers | -> http://www.martinopietropoli.com